Work Life Balance: Mary Kay Party

Tonight I attend a Mary Kay party that my aunt had. It was fun to hang out with other “girls” and talk about make up, eat some good food, and relax. I also decided to invest in some skin care.

I am a products girl. I have always liked reading girly magazines about make up tips, products you should use, etc. However I use lots of brands and sometimes change  to save money. As a chemist I know that some of these products must be counter productive and recently I have been struggling with some breakouts on my face.

I was never someone who had a lot of achene in high school so I never learned how to deal with it. When about a year, year and a half ago I got a horrible amount of achene all at once that didn’t seem to go away no matter how much I washed my face with gentle cleanser or harsher cleansers, or didn’t wear make up or did wear it, or wore the kind with achene fighting medicine in it, I thought that these breakouts must be stress related. I was trying to finish up my PhD. I wasn’t sleeping well and I was working at least 80-90 hrs a week sometimes up to 120hrs including all the writing and editing I was doing. I tried to mitigate the achene by keeping my face clean and dry and only wearing coverup when needed. It started to clear up a week before my thesis defense and I thought that was the end of it.

Recently it has started coming back. I have been researching (what else should a scientist do when you don’t know the answer to something but look for evidence?) the effect of using different products online and in medical journals. Most of what I found explains that over time certain products buildup on your skin or your skin can become resistant to them and you start using more and more.

Since my best friend and my aunt have both had success with Mary Kay I decided to give it a try. The first thing I noticed is that you use much less (about 1/5 of the face wash that I used to use). While this is not a proper scientific study I hope to have some qualitative results soon.

quick side story: at the party the sales person was letting us try make up primer, which should make foundation and make up go on more smoothly and last longer. Being an annoying proponent of using controls in your experiments I decided to only put primer on one side of my face and see if I could tell the difference…

One comment on “Work Life Balance: Mary Kay Party

Leave a Reply

